Far From Alone

This year for my reading week, or Spring Break as some folks like to call it, (who are we kidding, we don’t read during the week) I had the wonderful opportunity to depart from beautiful British Columbia and head down to sunny San Francisco for a missions trip with Trinity Western.

I would like to thank the people that allowed me to experience a short-term missions trip. Thank you for your prayers and your contributions. Our group of nine was able to get a considerable amount of work done for the Bay Area Rescue Mission in Richmond, California. We worked in the kitchen preparing meals, in the garden associated with the organization planting seeds and weeding, we spoke in the women’s chapels in the morning, we helped out with their after school program called King’s Club and lead two children’s chapels as well. We were also able to organize a lot of the toys the Mission receives, which would have taken them weeks, but we were able to complete it in a few hours.

It was such a blessing to be humbled and selfless, which probably sounds weird but as a selfish university student I needed some perspective on what real people are dealing with and the chance to help them. I was also able to have conversations with people in the program (it is a 14 month program for people recovering with addictions) that were authentic and honest. These people spoke truth and shared their lives with us, people they don’t even know. It made me want to be like them, and I wish I had the courage to express my brokenness, my mistakes and moments of despair more often instead of staying silent. There is safety in this program and it is clear that people join to be defined and healed. It is obvious to those looking and listening that pain exists in these people. Why can’t we treat life that way? Feeling safe in the fact that we know we have each experienced pain and hurt and instead of withholding these parts of our lives, taking the courage to share it with each other. I know we would have so much more in common then we all think we do. We assume that we are fighting this battle, us against everyone and everything else, when in reality, we are far from alone.

Now please, enjoy my photos :)

Thank you for reading and scrolling all the way down here, I really appreciate it.
P.S. I also read the first two Hunger Games novels (one on the trip and one after) and I am just thrilled for the movie! I hope you are too.
-Meredith

One comment

  1. Questaaaa · · Reply

    I think, I would not like driving in San Fran. Thanks for warning me.

Leave a Reply

