Legal Alien

Yes, the long awaited post is here. Having no internet in your apartment tends to hinder how much you blog, my apologies.

Well, here I am in Korea. The land of flashy signs, cheap food and beer and weird smells. It’s been just over a month since I arrived and I have had some great adventures and some very challenging times. As I was thinking about what to write to all of you I thought about just telling you how everything was great and wonderful and sun-shiny, but I changed my mind. This is a place for me to be honest, to tell you what is really going on while I am here, without of course, a cloud of depression following you for the rest of the day. However, I am not going to sugar coat it.

So far, things in Korea have been very difficult for me. It was, and is, extremely hard adapting to a completely different culture, despite the fact that Vancouver has a large population of Asians. My job is easy but the demands and the workplace are difficult and frustrating. Also, I’m not foreigners are not the friendliest type here, which does not make it easy to make friends let me tell you.

Going around South Korea is going well, though, and it’s incredibly easy. Transportation is way better and cheaper here than Vancouver or Toronto, who knew. I am living day by day and trying, I’ll admit basically failing, at finding something good to focus on each day. Keep me in your prayers if and when you think of me.

On the bright side, quite literally, here are some actual sun-shiny shots of South Korea.

DSC_0019 DSC_0006 DSC_0032 DSC_0048 DSC_0044 DSC_0057DSC_0059 DSC_0062 DSC_0072 DSC_0067 DSC_0085 DSC_0079 DSC_0080 DSC_0099I hope to have a new post to you shortly!

– M

9 comments

  1. <3 love you, miss you, will pray for you <3
    can't wait to hear more!

  2. Nice to see your post. Love you and will always be praying.

  3. Aunt Holly · · Reply

    So great to finally hear how you are doing. Have been thinking/praying about you lately. Keep in touch and ‘chin up’. Say Hi to Kenji for me. Aunt Holly

  4. Jordan Fretz · · Reply

    Sorry to hear things aren’t going as planned but keep your chin up! Nice to see pictures of you two. miss ya!

  5. Rebecca Desjardins · · Reply

    Hey Meredith, great to hear what you’ve been up to even if you’re still trying to get into the groove of things. Hang in there, the first little bit is always the hardest, and I didn’t have a language barrier to deal with!

    Thinking of you,
    Rebecca

  6. Lots of love to you darling. You are strong and brave and this is only going to make you stronger and braver. Send me your mailing address, if you can! I’d love to write real letters.

  7. Really great pictures, the stairs kind of move when you scroll it up and down. Clever. I’m glad you’re letting us into the hard stuff too. We can take it. Just sorry that it’s so hard.

  8. Captian Awesome · · Reply

    Glad to know your not dead!

  9. Big change is always so hard, I can feel for you. Praying for you.

Leave a Reply

