New Year…Same You

What I wouldn’t give to wake up on January 1st, 2015 and have the unshakeable motivation to work out, eat salad, and never have a sweet again… okay maybe not that one. Will it happen? Definitely not, and definitely not suddenly.

I have lived my life waiting for that “zap” of change. As a kid I just assumed you suddenly felt like an adult at a certain age or moment. It just hit you and you suddenly knew what you wanted and how to think and make decisions. Needless to say I haven’t gotten that “zap” yet. I wait for that “zap” every year and maybe I feel it for a moment, but then it fades. I’m realizing, with great reluctance, that I am my own “zap.” (Who knew I could write Science Fiction.)

That saying, “New Year, New You” has irked me lately. I like who I am and I don’t feel the need to re-invent myself every year. I am the same person and I will generally stay the same and ultimately have the same struggles throughout my life. There are always some areas that will need work. I am a strong believer that Jesus is my provider and strength and hope, but I need to meet Him halfway. I need to take that step towards my yoga mat. I need to open my journal and close my laptop. I need to put my running shoes on… although it would be nice if He could help me with that as it’s getting more difficult to bend over ;)

Pray for motivation, pray for the zap, but make steps in the right direction at the same time. Meet Jesus halfway. He doesn’t leave you, He waits. Amen.
DSC_0084 DSC_0087 DSC_0100

(some leftovers from Ontario)

Happy New Year Peeps,

-M

3 comments

  1. Naomi unrau · · Reply

    Good one. Are you still in Kingston?

    1. We moved back to Vancouver!

  2. Aunt Holly · · Reply

    Happy New Year to the both of you as well. Heard you got a job. You rock!! Best of luck. New Year, Blank Canvas. Missed you both at family xmas yesterday!!! Not the same without all the fam there. Love you both – keep each other safe and happy. Aunt Holly.

Leave a Reply

